PROGRAM_Image_1-1.jpg
ASIA PROGRAMME
October 14th, 2020
World Climate Forum ASIA

Welcome Remarks

09:00 - 09:03AM CET

03:00 - 03:03PM SGT

World Climate Forum ASIA Welcome

 

Jens Nielsen / CEO /  World Climate Foundation

Keynote 

09:05 – 09:15AM CET

03:05 – 03:15PM SGT

Carbon Markets - Helping Countries Raise Ambition Ahead of COP26

Dr. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana / Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of ESCAP

Biodiversity and Natural Capital

Marco Lambertini / Director General /  WWF International

Opening Session 

09:15 – 09:45AM CET

03:15 – 03:45PM SGT

Capturing Investment Opportunities in the Clean Energy Revolution - Navigating Asia’s Transition

Reaching net-zero emissions will require drastic changes to investments, especially as economies focus on economic pandemic recovery. Capturing investment opportunities in the just, net-zero transition is crucial to accelerating the correct path towards a low-carbon economy. As outlined in a recent report by Asia Investor Group on Climate Change, investor appetite for climate investment opportunities in Asia is strong and the transition to a low-carbon economy is accelerating as the growing impact of increasing physical climate impact becomes apparent. This session will seek to explore the low-carbon investment opportunities emerging in Asia’s clean energy landscape.

  • Rebecca Mikula-Wright / Executive Director / AIGCC (moderator)

  • Suvojoy Sengupta / Partner / McKinsey & Company

  • Dr. Yongping Zhai / Chief of Energy Sector Group, Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department / Asian Development Bank

  • Tom Howes  / Head of Energy and Environment / IEA

Panel Session 2

09:45 – 10:15AM CET

03:45 – 04:15PM SGT

Building Sustainability - Strengthening the Case for Climate Resilient Infrastructure

As buildings become more and more affected by the physical impacts of climate variability and change, they also can play an essential role in adapting to create resilience to those impacts. Climate-resilient infrastructure must be planned, designed, built and operated in a way that anticipates, prepares for, and adapts to changing climate conditions. This session will focus on how climate-resilient new and existing infrastructure should be prioritised, and the actions required from both the public and private sector to implement the required changes. What are the remaining challenges and proven good approaches to
strengthening infrastructure to become climate-resilient?

  • Cristina Gamboa / CEO / World Green Building Council (moderator)

  • Allen Ge / President of HVAC and Transport businesses, Asia Pacific /  Trane Technologies 

  • Subbu Kanakasabapathy / Regional Managing Director, South East Asia / Jacobs

Closing Session 

10:15 – 10:45AM CET

04:15 – 04:45PM SGT

Catalyzing the Post-Pandemic Recovery - Pathways to Sustainable Value Creation

Fundamental to a transformational and green recovery is early action. It is imperative that swift measures are taken to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement. On a longer-term agenda, the COVID-19 recovery must keep sustainable economies in mind, in line with Green New Deals, to ensure a just transition. ESG factors provide a useful framework within which sustainable value creation can take place and, along with sustainability-focused business practices, contribute to achieving a green economic recovery. This session will focus on current methods and tools that are leading the way in sustainable value creation, from post-pandemic recovery towards global green realignment and climate action by 2030.

  • Justin Wu / Managing Director and Head of Asia-Pacific / BloombergNEF (moderator)

  • Juliette Macresy / Executive Director – Issuer Business /  Vigeo Eiris 

  • Shalini Singh / Chief Corporate Communications & Sustainability / Tata Power

  • Tony Cripps / CEO / HSBC Singapore

Contact Us

Strategic Partnership Enquiries:

 

James Butler

james.butler@worldclimatefoundation.org

Bardha Kushutani

bardha.kushutani@worldclimatefoundation.org

Programme Enquiries:

Rowena Guthrie

rowena.guthrie@worldclimatefoundation.org

Media Enquiries:

Ted Coullet

ted.coullet@worldclimatefoundation.org  

Copyright © 2020

Privacy Policy